Shokugeki no Soma – Casting Live-Action Drama (Reimagined)

Although my affinity for Japanese anime and manga waned down a few years ago, I thought it’d be a fun exercise to reimagine them as live-action dramas. Aside from screenplay, casting is one of the most important elements that make or break a show.

Shokugeki no Soma was a wildly popular series the last few years. It started off with a bang as it featured exquisite gastronomical experiences for the watcher. I know things went downhill in the manga towards the end but if we envision the good parts into a live-action drama, what might that look like?

To be clear, if this was ever to become a drama, I imagine it to be Rated PG-13. Anyone who’s seen the anime will understand why I’m pointing that out.

This one is a little difficult because I tried to find youthful actors. I find it a little unsuitable when dramas use very mature-looking actors to play high school students. I understand that this is a Japanese anime. Unfortunately most actors I chose are Chinese with the few exceptions of one or two. This is because I haven’t been keeping up with Korean and Japanese dramas in the last six years so most of the actors I do know are from a slightly older generation that don’t necessarily fit a high school drama.

Positioning

Of course any live-action adaption of an animation comes with tweaks. The anime is heavily dramatized and the characters were exaggerated, but I imagine a drama version to be more subtle, with more realistic characters when it comes to personality.

While I casted some characters that only show up later in the series, if this were to be a drama, I’d definitely rewrite the second half of the story. Because of the nature of the story, there are many characters that are in the spotlight only for certain parts. I imagine this drama to be one with many guest actors. The parts may be minor in relation to the length of the story, but each character should be treated thoughtfully and be casted with notable or competent actors to make things more fun.

Age: If adapted to a drama, I think it’d be best if the age range of characters were moved up slightly so they’re stepping into the college age realm. It’s very difficult to set it at high school and expect it not to look juvenile.

Characters: As a live-action, a lot of the extreme, over-the-top personalities and behaviors that work as animation would need to be toned down to make it watchable. The live-action counterparts of the characters should still embody the core essence. However, I think certain aspects of them should be rewritten, especially female characters, as I don’t feel they were written in a likable manner that the audience could actually connect with. They were typical anime girls written by men.

In terms of ethnicity, I had to take some liberty here. I think the anime intended for the characters to be from different parts of the world. However, it’s a little hard to decipher which ones as most of them have Japanese names (my memory is also rusty with this anime). Therefore, all the options I presented are going to be East Asian.

Romance: I think it’d best to minimize the romance in shows like these that put cooking and food at the forefront. Adding romance often comes off as forced. I think a strong friendship is more valuable and captivating amongst the cut-throat competition.

Yukihira Soma

Someone that plays Soma has to be more than good-looking, he has to be charismatic. Soma is an interesting character because he is not an underdog in the traditional sense like in Naruto or Kuroko. He starts off talented, really great at cooking, a little cocky, but most importantly, willing to learn. Unlike some of his toxic classmates, Soma doesn’t battle for the sake of beating other people. He battles to elevate and push his food further. All three actors below are capable of this role.

Turbo Liu 刘昊然: I don’t think anyone could go wrong with Liu Haoran. It’s been a long time since I’ve indulged his works but he’s always demonstrated to be able to capture any role given to him.

Zhang Yao 张耀: Zhang Yao isn’t the most popular actor but his talents put him ahead of many in his age bracket.

Jackson Yee 易烊千玺: Yi Yang Qianxi is young but incredibly versatile, he would be able to bring Soma to life.

Runner Ups: 2. Arthur Chen – Chen Feiyu was one of the first people that popped up in my mind. While he has the youth and face for the role, his acting would need a little more work like Dylan Wang to pull off Soma.

Nakiri Erina

Nakiri Erina is not a very likable character nor was the way she was written and executed, someone you can really empathize with despite her childhood traumas. If this anime were to be a drama, I’d hope for her personality to be written as someone who the audience can connect and cheer for even if she’s cold, arrogant, and demanding. It is not an easy character to play well and can easily make the audience reject. While her attitude is cold, her character is full of fire. If not played with the proper nuance, you will end up with a block of emotionless ice. Even now I am still not sure of my choice for her so I offer three actresses I think could embody her with some guidance. Their actual ages are a little older than the role but they should be able to pull it off.

Zhang Yuxi 张予曦: Her look and demeanor fit the role of a fierce ice queen, I think with some guidance on acting, she could be Erina.

Zhou Yutong 周雨彤: Zhou Yutong objectively probably has the best acting skills out of these three. Most of her roles usually lean on the serious side so this may be a character she could adapt to.

Zoey Meng 孟子义– Meng Ziyi is a wild card for me. My impression of her is limited to her role in Ever Night as Ye Hongyu which is similar to Erina in some aspects.

Megumi Tadokoro

Megumi starts off meek and a push-over before building confidence. I don’t like characters like Megumi especially at the beginning so I tried think of actresses that could create a likable Megumi. These three have proven to be able to kick up chemistry with pretty much any co-star.

Su Xiaotong 苏小桐: Su Xiaotong is an expert at roles that seem weak but quickly develop into someone capable and strong.

Li Jiaqi 厉嘉琪: I definitely have a soft spot for Li Jiaqi. She was in one of my favorite youth dramas “Wait My Youth!”. She’s funny and versatile and can make the audience like any of her roles.

Kamishiraishi Mone: I’ve only seen Mone once but judging by her endearing performance, she’d make a good Megumi.

Moon Geumyoung was in my list of possible actresses but I would not want to subject an accomplished actress of her caliber to the role of a high schooler at this point in time.

Takumi Aldini

Takumi may seem arrogant but that’s mainly a front. He likes to be cool but his impulsive personality often shatters that image as he bickers constantly with people around him. Despite that, he is passionate about cooking

Zhao Yiqin 赵弈钦: Zhao Yiqin is excellent with characters like Takumi who are confident, passionate, and have a strong sense of camaraderie.

Neo Hou 侯明昊: Hou Minghao is another actor with an array of expressions that suit Takumi.

Kurokiba Ryo

Kurokiba is a difficult character to cast. You want someone that has the right menacing attitude when he cooks but the actor should be able to pass as a student easily. A good cast for him would not be a pretty boy but someone more masculine that can portray someone who is rather rough around the edges. Kurokiba also has two extremely different modes casting for a role like his would require a dynamic actor.

Xiao Zhan 肖战: Xiao Zhan is a versatile actor that can play bubbly characters like Wei Wuxian as well as stone-cold assassins like Yan Bingyun. He has the fierceness and duality required for a role like Kurokiba.

Hwang Hyunjin: I have no idea if Hyunjin can act. Realistically I wouldn’t cast idols but conceptually, his stage presence reminds me of Kurokiba a little.

Nakiri Alice

Sebrina Chen 陈瑶: I’ve only seen Chen Yao act twice but it was more than enough to convince me she’d do well as Alice. In “Age of Legends”, she played a wealthy CEO that wasn’t too far off from Alice’s personality. Even regarding facial features, Sabrina fits well with her slender, fox-like face.

Daisy Li 李玉洁: Li Yujie has an array of roles with characters that can be applied to a character like Nakiri Alice.

Ikumi Mito

I can’t remember if Ikumi was supposed to be American or if she just liked to wear clothes with the American flag on it. Either way, I couldn’t think of an Asian American actress that could play her nor anyone that is blessed with her figure so I took some liberties with this. Ikumi is normally bold and confident but also has her shy moments.

Zhang Yaqin 张雅钦: If anyone can play Ikumi, it would be Zhang Yaqin.

Kobayashi Rindo

Rindo is one of my favorite characters and also one that took a while to think about. She’s fearless. She would be a little difficult to play as her character goes unhinged when cooking sometimes. It would take an actress who understands nuances and boundaries to make a convincing performance. That being said, because she is more of a minor character, I actually went a little liberal with my choices. gank your heart girl,

Jinna Fu 傅菁: Fu Jing had a decent performance in one of my favorite dramas this year “Shining for One Thing” so I think it would be interesting to see her take on a role like Rindo.

Ning Ning 宁艺卓: In all honesty, it’s probably the red hair that forced my hand once again. As mentioned before, under normal circumstances I would rarely consider idols as I have no idea if Ning Ning can act at all but her fiery stage presence is something I can connect to Rindo with.

Hayama Akira

I have an inkling Hayama was supposed to be Southeast Asian or South Asian because of the spices but I can’t be sure. If anyone knows for sure, let me know.

Lin Yanjun 林彦俊: No comment other than I think his aura fits the cool-headed Hayama.

Jeonghan: Anyone familiar with SEVENTEEN can probably guess why I put Jeonghan here. (Yes it is the hair)

Shiomi Jun

Though she looks like she belongs in High School, Shiomi Jun is actually a young professor in her 30s teaching at the school.

Ireine Song 宋伊人: Song Yiren at first glance looks like a child but if you observe closely, she can pass off as someone quite mature. As an experienced actress, she should be able to pull off Shiomi Jun.

Arato Hisako 

Xu Mengyuan 许梦圆: My impression of Xu Mengyuan as an actress was always the impressionable Xu Meili from Wait My Youth until I saw her in “My Huckleberry Friends“. She can play a serious, cold, elegant student with no problem. Hisako doesn’t require anything complicated and fits Xu Meng Yuan’s appearance well.

Kawashima Urara

Esther Yu 虞书欣: Who can play a better idol host than Yu Shuxin? With Urara’s extreme personality, it would be a role Esther Yu should have fun playing. She doesn’t need to hold back at all.

Terunori Kuga

Kuga has multiple faces. Most of the time he is emotionally active and short-tempered. Around certain upperclassmen, he can seem like a kid. However, when it comes to business, he is very mature and shrewd. He has a dark streak to him that compliments his talent in Sichuan cuisine.

Eden Zhao 趙志偉: Eden Zhao at first glance seems like a nice guy but he has no issues playing a rebellious boy. He would be able to portray the double-faced Kuga very interestingly.

Tsukasa Eishi

Tsukasa Eishi is a very deceiving character. On the outside, he looks like your typical cold, school prince but when he opens his mouth, he proves to be very humble, frantic, and anxious about every little thing. While his culinary skills are at the top in the school, he doesn’t go declaring his talents to everyone and instead proves it through cooking. I had to think a bit for an actor that could play a role like his. The majority of actors I see these days, play the typical stoic, cold, male lead.

Luo Mingjie 骆明劼: My first impression of Luo Mingjie was playing the cold, calculating younger brother in “Forever and Ever”. I would have never imagined him in the role of Tsukasa Eishi if it wasn’t for his endearing performance in “Shining for One Thing”. After seeing two vastly different sides of him, I believe he could capture Tsukasa’s particular personality.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.